Melissa’s Mix Tape

This summer was filled with fun, travel, relaxation and the releases of many excellent new albums. From the time we left school in May until the end of August, bands pumped out some of their greatest sounds yet before embarking on summer and fall tours. The mixtape this week highlights some of the new music you didn’t catch over the summer. With new albums from indie legends Wilco, dance favorites Phoenix, local songwriter extraordinaire John Vanderslice and many more, it’s time to check through what you missed and give these a good hard listen on your study break.

1) “Too Much Time” by John Vanderslice off of “Romanian Names” (released 5/19)

2) “1901” by PHOENIX off of “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix” (released 5/26)

3) “Cannibal Resource” by Dirty Projectors off of “Bitte Orca” (released 6/9)

4) “Easy” by Dear Tick off of “Born on Flag Day” (released 6/23)

5) “You and I” by Wilco off of “Wilco” (released 6/30)

6) “Down to the Wire” by Son Volt off of “American Central Dust” (released 7/7)

7) “The Rock of Ages” by Magnolia Electric Co. off of “Josephine” (released 7/14)

8) “Young Hearts Spark Fire” by Japandroids off of “Post-Nothing” (released 8/4)

9) “Wind Speaks” by Mount Eerie off of “Wind’s Poem” (released 8/18)

10) “Summer Light” by the Cave Singers off of “Welcome Joy” (released 8/18)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *